The Heads of State of the Republic of Azerbaijan, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine,

Being guided by the norms and principles of international law, the provisions enshrined in the Charter of the United Nations, the fundamental documents of the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe and also, the Yalta Charter and the Chisinau Declaration of the GUAM,

Reasserting the dedication to democratic values, full respect for human rights and freedoms, supremacy of the rule of law, both in internal and external affairs, the principles of equality, mutual respect and mutually beneficial cooperation,

Emphasizing common aspiration to expedite advancement toward European integration,

Expressing our deep concern with regard to continuing conflicts and the growing threat to security, stemming out from international terrorism, aggressive separatism and extremism and the related negative phenomena,

Reaffirming commitment to contribute to strengthening the international peace, security and stability on the basis of respect of the principles of sovereignty, territorial integrity and inviolability of internationally recognized borders of the States,

Stressing the significance of deepening economic cooperation, inter alia in the spheres of energy, transport and trade to promote further development and improvement of well-being of their nations,

Highly valuing the spiritual and cultural heritage of people of their states and expressing interest to develop cooperation in humanitarian sphere, particularly in the areas of culture, science, education, healthcare, youth exchange, tourism and sports,

Emphasizing the growing role of regional cooperation in pan-European processes;

  1. Declare establishment of an International Regional Organization – “Organization for Democracy and Economic Development – GUAM” (hereinafter referred to as GUAM) with Secretariat in Kyiv.
  2. Stress that GUAM’S activities are aimed at the enhancement of democracy, adherence to the rule of law, respect for fundamental human rights and freedoms, economic development of States and assuring of security and stability.
  3. Reaffirm the need to enhance action to support sustainable development of the GUAM States through dynamic economic growth, social concord and protection of the environment.
  4. Declare their intention to cooperate actively in settlement of unresolved conflicts in a number of GUAM States that undermine sovereignty, territorial integrity and independence of those States, impeding the full-scale implementation of democratic reforms and economic development of the region, negatively impact European integration processes and challenge the world community.
  5. Express their readiness to further enhance cooperation in combating international terrorism, extremism and aggressive separatism and other related negative phenomena.
  6. Stand for deepening of economic, commercial and transport cooperation of the GUAM States and declare the beginning of the implementation of the Free Trade Area Agreement.
  7. Declare on inadmissibility of the economic pressure and monopolization of energy market, and emphasize the need to activize efforts to ensure energy security, including by means of diversifying routes of transportation of energy resources from Central Asia and Caspian regions to the European market.
  8. Support utmost use of the international transit capacity of the GUAM States to ensure also sustainable supply of energy resources.
  9. Express readiness to develop cooperation in the humanitarian sphere, particularly in the areas of culture, science, education, healthcare, youth exchange, tourism and sports.
  10. Reaffirm the strive of the GUAM States to deepen European integration and enhance relations with the European Union and NATO.
  11. Emphasize willingness of the GUAM States to further develop partnership relations with the United States of America and other States and organizations, in particular, to implement joint projects.
  12. Declare that the Organization for Democracy and Economic Development – GUAM is open for accession of other States which share its goals and principles.

Kyiv, 23 May 2006