On December 5, 2014 in Basel, the 24th meeting of the Council of Foreign Ministers (CMFA) of GUAM took place within the framework of the regular Ministerial meeting. It was attended by the following officials: Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Azerbaijan, E. Mammadyarov; the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Georgia, T. Beruchashvili; the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs and European Integration of the Republic of Moldova, N. Herman (who chaired the meeting); the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Ukraine, P. Klimkin; and the Secretary General of GUAM, V. Chechelashvili.

The CMFA took into account information presented by the Presiding Party regarding the work performed in advancing the Draft Resolution “Protracted conflicts in the GUAM area and their implications for international peace, security and development”.

The foreign ministers exchanged views on recent events in conflict zones within the GUAM area and condemned actions taken against sovereignty and territorial integrity within its internationally recognized borders.

The CMFA thanked the Moldovan side for its successful Chairmanship and agreed to transfer the chairmanship of GUAM – Organization for Democracy and Economic Development to Ukraine.

The CMFA welcomed the decision to hold the 8th meeting of GUAM’s Bureau of the Parliamentary Assembly (PA) as well as the 7th plenary meeting of the PA GUAM in November 10-11, 2014 in Kishinev, as well as the adoption of a Communiqué of the PA GUAM and the Joint statement of the PA GUAM, the Baltic Assembly and the parliamentary delegation from the Republic of Poland.

The CMFA adopted a decision approving the country coordinators of GUAM’s sectoral working groups for the period 2015-2016.

The Council discussed issues of cooperation between GUAM and other states and international organizations, in particular, the organization of regular meetings of GUAM-USA and GUAM-Japan at the level of the CMFA.

The place and the date of the next CMFA meeting will be agreed upon through diplomatic channels.